

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Sara Appleton, Treasurer

Louraine Arkfeld

Kelly Byrne

Angel Carbajal, Jr.

Arlene Chin, President

Shana Ellis

Suzanne Fallender, Member-at-Large

Chris Gonzalez

Bruce Hallin

Steve Holm

Jenny Holsman

Mike Jennings

Jennifer Johnson

Ryan Joy

Laura Kajfez

Pam Kane

Bob Kawa

Angela Kebric

Linda Knutson

Shereen Lerner, Member-at-Large

Sue Ligocki

Barbara Lloyd, Secretary

Nick Miner

Jenny Norton

Nancy Puffer

Mike Rooney, Past President

Kati Spencer

Woody Wilson, Vice President

Kate Hanley, Executive Director

# **EVENT SPONSORS**





Jenny Norton & Bob Ramsey



















TEMPE CORPORATE CENTER

























TEMPE COMMUNITY COUNCIL

## 28TH ANNUAL DON CARLOS HUMANITARIAN AWARDS

Monday, October 10, 2011 6:30 to 9:30pm

Arizona Historical Society Museum Courtyard

SPONSORED BY



# PROGRAM

#### WELCOME

Arlene Chin. Board President Patricia DiRoss, SRP Senior Governmental Affairs Representative

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT ON EFFORT TO REDUCE HOMELESSNESS IN TEMPE Hugh Hallman, Mayor

YOUNG HUMANITARIAN SCHOLAR - KIARA HINES Kathy Holladay

DON CARLOS VIDEO PRESENTATION Produced by DW Green Company

CITY OF TEMPE PROCLAMATION Hugh Hallman, Mayor

INTRODUCTION OF DR. RALPH AND ALICE GOITIA Jane & Dick Neuheisel

2011 DON CARLOS HUMANITARIANS OF THE YEAR Dr. Ralph and Alice Goitia

**CLOSING REMARKS** Arlene Chin

# HONOREES



## HUMANITARIANS OF THE YEAR

## Dr. Ralph and Alice Goitia

Alice and Ralph have dedicated their lives to giving back to others and were personally involved with the development of several of Tempe's core programs. The Goitia's have dedicated 47 years to Tempe's children. They have volunteered

with countless programs and projects, including Tempe Sister Cities, Assistance League of East Valley, Rotary and CARE 7, as well as dedicating their professional lives to the education of Tempe children.

#### YOUNG HUMANITARIAN SCHOLAR

### **Kiara Hines**

Kiar Hines sum qui id quistem laborerumet utecabor mos nonsed et dit aut endis experit quia ped quaecuptatur adigentur, occust que prem corepel in cum nus qui non rae velentibus resegui con pariaspidis nulpa dolesegui doluptasi alignatus.

Editate volestiorro ilit que volorporrum dusti dolorum inihil et omni dis soluptur arum num sandit vitatem fugiate mporepudam volorrum fuga.

## DON CARLOS HISTORY

Charles Trumbull Hayden was Tempe's founder and first great humanitarian. "Don Carlos." as the Spanish pioneers affectionately called him, was known across Arizona for the assistance he provided to people in need. Presented annually, by Tempe Community Council. the Don Carlos Humanitarian Award is considered to be one of Tempe's most prestigious distinctions.

1984 Dr. William Payne

1985 Leonard Monti, Sr.

1986 Margaret & William Kajikawa

1987 Jinnett B. Kirk

1988 Peggy Bryant

1989 Eliza Carney

1990 Naomi Harward

1991 Mimi & Mac Bohlman

1992 Virginia Tinsley

1993 Betty & John Waters

1994 Pat Hatton

1996 Rudy Campbell

1997 Bobbie & George Overby

1998 Sue & Bob Lofgren

1999 Carol E. Smith

2000 Sue Searcy

2001 Zita Johnson

2002 Bobbie & Don Cassano

2003 David B. Cutty

2004 Joseph P. Spracale

2005 Jane & Dick Neuheisel

2006 Gail Fisher & Mel Kessler

2007 Linda Spears

2008 Pen Johnson

2009 Sue Ringler

2010 Catherine May & Dan Abbott

#### PHILANTHROPISTS

2008 Tempe Diablos

2009 Arte Moreno

2010 Jerry Brock