

OFFICERS

Woody Wilson, President Nancy Puffer, Vice President Nick Miner, Secretary Sara Appleton, Treasurer Arlene Chin, Past President Shereen Lerner, Member-at-Large Jenny Holsman Tetreault, Member-at-Large

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Louraine Arkfeld Angel Carbajal, Jr. Alana Chavez-Langdon Suzanne Fallender Chris Gonzalez Bruce Hallin Steve Holm Mike Jennings Ryan Joy Laura Kajfez Pam Kane Robert Kawa Angela Kebric Linda Knutson Susan Ligocki Barbara Lloyd Tom Mann Jenny Norton Mike Rooney Greg Ruiz Kati Spencer Genevieve Vega

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Katherine Hanley

thank you to our sponsors







LINDA KNUTSON & SALLY WITTLINGER

DAVID & NANCY PUFFER

KATI SPENCER

Innovative Impresarios of Fine Music			HOORING AND INTERIORS	RIO SALADO
--------------------------------------	--	--	-----------------------	------------



BURNHAM Coffin@Trout Fine |ewellers Attorneys at Law

TIM & SARA APPLETON LOURAINE ARKFELD SUZANNE FALLENDER & THOMAS CATLAW JAMES & ALANA LANGDON SHEREEN LERNER & ROBERT MILLER

BARBARA LLOYD THE REDMAN FAMILY MIKE & RUTH ROONEY JOE SCHMOKER INSURANCE





29th annual don carlos humanitarian award ceremony and dinner wednesday, october 10, 2012 5:30 to 9:00pm

PERA club pavilion

Tempe Community Council





program

WELCOME Woody Wilson, TCC Board President

SPONSOR WELCOME Bruce Hallin, SRP, Director, Water Rights and Contracts

> SPIRIT OF TEMPE KARMA AWARD Woody Wilson

YOUNG HUMANITARIAN SCHOLAR Jenny Norton, Ramsey Social Justice Foundation

GUIDING LIGHT LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT IN PHILANTHROPY Kate Hanley, TCC Executive Director

DON CARLOS VIDEO PRESENTATION
Produced by DW Green Company

CITY OF TEMPE PROCLAMATION AND INTRODUCTION OF HARRY E. MITCHELL Mark Mitchell, Mayor

2012 DON CARLOS HUMANITARIAN OF THE YEAR Harry Mitchell

> CLOSING REMARKS Woody Wilson

honorees



Harry Mitchell is an advocate for community building.

He is known as much for his friendly and humble demeanor as he is for his 50-plus years of giving back to community. He demonstrated leadership through service on numerous nonprofit boards, including Tempe Community Council, Childsplay, Salvation Army and St. Luke's Hospital. Mr. Mitchell co-founded Tempe Sister Cities in 1970. He taught American Government and Free Enterprise for Tempe High School, his own alma mater, for nearly 30 years, and is remembered as a beloved and dedicated teacher. Moreover, Mr. Mitchell dedicated 36 years of his life as a public servant, serving on Tempe City Council from 1970-1978, four consecutive terms as the Mayor of Tempe from 1978-1994, Arizona Senate from 1998-2006 and United States Representative from 2006-2010. In leadership positions, Mr. Mitchell championed human services, educational improvements, and care for our veterans. GUIDING LIGHT LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT IN PHILANTHROPY



SRP builds stronger, more vibrant communities by working in collaboration with nonprofit partners. For more than 100 years, SRP has made giving back to the community a priority. Investment in education, health and human services, arts and culture, civic leadership and environmental programs create thriving Arizona communities. Accepted by Peter Hayes, Associate General Manager & Chief Public Affairs Executive.

YOUNG HUMANITARIAN SCHOLAR

Sabrina Hernandez

model for us all. A graduate of Marcos de Niza High School, she is double majoring in Business Law and Global Studies at Arizona State University. A leader and dedicated volunteer, Sabrina was a National Honors Society member, elected to student council, captain of the varsity softball team and a delegate in Zhenjiang, China through Tempe Sister Cities.

Sabrina Hernandez serves as a role

SPIRIT OF TEMPE KARMA

Cindy Williams and an exemplary Tempe resident. Nominated by UMOM New Day

Centers, for her enthusiasm and commitment to the UMOM mission, Cindy has spent hundreds of hours raising awareness and critical funds for the organization. She is doing her part to break the cycle of homelessness.

Cindy Williams is a top volunteer

don carlos history

Charles Trumbull Hayden was Tempe's founder and first great humanitarian. "Don Carlos," as the Spanish pioneers affectionately called him, was known across Arizona for the assistance he provided to people in need. Presented annually, by Tempe Community Council, the Don Carlos Humanitarian Award is considered to be one of Tempe's most prestigious distinctions.

DON CARLOS HUMANITARIANS

- 1984 Dr. William Payne
- 1985 Leonard Monti, Sr.
- 1986 Margaret & William Kajikawa
- 1987 Jinnett B. Kirk
- 1988 Peggy Bryant
- 1989 Eliza Carney
- 1990 Naomi Harward
- 1991 Mimi & Mac Bohlman
- 1992 Virginia Tinsley
- 1993 Betty & John Waters
- 1994 Pat Hatton
- 1995 Lawn Griffiths
- 1996 Rudy Campbell
- 1997 Bobbie & George Overby
- 1998 Sue & Bob Lofgren
- 1999 Carol E. Smith
- 2000 Sue Searcy

- 2001 Zita Johnson
- 2002 Bobbie & Don Cassano
- 2003 David B. Cutty
- 2004 Joseph P. Spracale
- 2005 Jane & Dick Neuheisel
- 2006 Gail Fisher & Mel Kessler
- 2007 Linda Spears
- 2008 Pen Johnson
- 2009 Sue Ringler
- 2010 Catherine May & Dan Abbott
- 2011 Alice & Ralph Goitia

PHILANTHROPISTS

2008 Tempe Diablos 2009 Arte Moreno 2010 Jerry Brock